The wine industry body, VinPro, welcomes two new regional directors to its board, following the company’s Annual General Meeting this week.

Pieter du Toit, owner of Kloovenburg Wine and Olive Estate in Riebeek-Kasteel was elected as board member representing the Malmesbury region. He also serves on the board and financial committee of Riebeek Cellar.

Wine producers in the Olifants River region elected Karl Jansen van Rensburg from the farm Laborare in Trawal as their representative on the VinPro board. He is currently a director on the board of Klawer Wine Cellar where he previously held the position of chairman.

Danie de Wet of De Wetshof Estate near Robertson received the accolade of being VinPro’s first honorary member this week. This new membership category honours persons who have made a significant contribution to the organisation and the South African wine industry.

Danie is widely recognised as a pioneer with regard to white wine grape cultivars and played an instrumental role in raising the industry’s bar to compete internationally by promoting excellence in the vineyard and cellar. He led VinPro as chair when the organisation opened its doors in 2003.


Pieter du Toit, VinPro board member for the Malmesbury region

Karl Jansen van Rensburg, VinPro board member for the Olifants River region

Anton Smuts, current VinPro chairman presents the honorary membership certificate to Danie de Wet.

Go Back